Roman Missal

What is the General Instruction of the Roman Missal (GIRM)?

The General Instruction of the Roman Missal (GIRM)​ is the detailed document governing the celebration of Mass of the ordinary form of the Roman Rite of the Catholic Church.

The General Instruction is arranged in nine chapters, preceded by a preamble. The chapter headings are:​

  1. The Importance and Dignity of the Eucharistic Celebration
  2. The Structure of the Mass, Its Elements and Its Parts
  3. The Duties and Ministries in the Mass
  4. The Different Forms of Celebrating Mass
  5. The Arrangement and Furnishing of Churches for the Celebration of the Eucharist
  6. The Requisites for the Celebration of Mass
  7. The Choice of the Mass and Its Parts
  8. Masses and Prayers for Various Circumstances and Masses for the Dead
  9. Adaptations within the Competence of Bishops and Bishops' Conferences ​